Just a post to blog about…

I don’t know what’s triggered the sudden emotions in me – probably just heartfelt videos online or something but I’ve decided to write about it. And hopefully post it if I finish it, so here it goes:

When I think of the “sad” things I’ve experienced in my 18 years living, I think of my brother, I think of heartbreak, I think of what could’ve been. But when you really think deeply about each of these experiences, you realize how much they shape, form and mold you into the person you are today.

I’m not going to lie and say that I haven’t imagined different circumstances, of course I have, who hasn’t. What if my brother was what is considered ‘normal’, what if I stayed in my first high school, or been given the opportunity to study abroad? But would I really be happier? Many times I’ve thought, of course – this ideal life would make me happy.

But either way, life runs its course. You can be given a life of riches with a successful career, a state of the art car, a luxurious penthouse suite…but would you be happy every day, every hour of your life?

Life works in a way in that whether you have everything you could possibly want in life or have very little or close to none, we all experience sadness, we all experience tragedy, we all experience hardships. But at the exact same time, we all experience happiness and joy, we all experience blessings.

Quoting from the 2012 film, The Vow, “Life’s all about moments of impact and how they change our lives forever”. And I’d like to think that whether these moments of impacts are good or bad, they shape us and make us who we are today. It’s up to us to take everything in and appreciate it. 

Leave a Reply

