Away from the Hustle and Bustle (Day 3)

Day 3 in Chicago and today can be summed up in one word. Shopping.

Our hotel, The Westin Lombard Yorktown Hotel, is conveniently located next to Yorktown Center and Lombard Target (Target, my love!!). The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus within a 5-mile radius and to my luck, Oakbrook Center was nearby!

image

First stop, The Cheesecake Factory for lunch. Mom and I enjoyed a nice meal here when we visited San Francisco last May so it’s become a must for us to share a meal here! They offered Lunch Specials – call me stingy, but that’s obviously what I went for! These specials are considered to be in “smaller portions” – but don’t let this fool you because if they were to say that here in HK, yes, definitely they would be smaller but in the States…!? These “smaller portions” are even larger than regular portions served back home! I went for a lunch favorite, the Famous Factory Meatloaf with a Tropical Iced Tea.

What I loved most about Oakbrook Center is it’s not your conventional shopping mall that I’m normally exposed to back home. It’s what you could call, an outdoor mall. The center is located at Interstate 88 in Oak Brook, Illinois. From upscale stores to mid-scale to a Macy’s and a diverse range of dining choices, it’s complete!

I’d say Yorktown Center was almost as enjoyable (particularly at Charlotte Russe!). To name a few, Aeropostale, Wet Seal and Forever 21 were some of the other shops I visited. Enjoyed a cup of Baskin-Robbins (yuuuum) and even stumbled upon an As Seen on TV Plus shop!

I later had dinner at DMK Burger Bar – was starved, so unfortunately no photos! DMK Burger Bar, is located at 2370 Fountain Square Drive in Lombard. They’re known for their GreatChicagoFries, tried the Sea Salt & Black Pepper with their House Ketchup (super yuuuuum!) and their Sweet Potato Fries with Lemon Tobasco Aioli.

After dinner, I went to my one true love, TARGET! Literally can find anything and everything here. I could spend hours just circling the store!

Afterwards, we headed back to the hotel and spent our last night in Chicago.

I’ve never really said this about any other place I’ve visited but I could picture myself living in Chicago. Or well…at least in the summers! If I think about it some more, I probably wouldn’t be able to handle their winters, but I really enjoyed the mix between a “city” and a more typical, neighborhood scene.

If you ever check out Chicago, be sure not to miss out Millenium Park. My favourite place out of the whole city.

That concludes my Chicago posts, unfortunately, won’t be travelling for a while because I’m headed back to college tomorrow (wahhhhh!) but really hoping for a good year ahead of me (note to self: stay FOCUSED!).

Leave a Reply

