Star-studded Weekend Getaway | Manila, Philippines

(Late post, all of this happened exactly a month ago.)

Attend a celebrity wedding, check! It’s not often in your life you’re given such an opportunity so if you need to take a flight to attend that wedding, miss a couple of days of school, it’s a definite go.

We intended to take the first flight out on Friday morning but because flights were so full, we ended up getting bumped off. We did manage to get on the next flight out and made it in time for a lovely lunch at Fely J’s Kitchen in Greenbelt 5. Absolutely loved their food! Or maybe I’m just biased because it was Filipino food. But either way, it was delicious. Some of my favourites was their Tilapia with Sweet Plum Sauce, Lechon Kawali served along with Fely J’s Dilis-cious Rice.

We stayed two nights at five-star luxury hotel, Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila and I was very pleased with their service. Very welcoming staff upon entry! I stayed in one of their Superior rooms which was the perfect fit for myself and my mom. It also made great space as our room was used the following day for hair and make up for the wedding. I’m so used to the hustle and bustle of Manila but Sofitel’s swimming pool landscaped by surrounding palm trees facing Manila Bay seems like the perfect getaway or even staycation for those in Manila. It’s said that Manila Bay’s Sunset is one of the must-sees of Sofitel but unfortunately, I didn’t make it in time as the sun was pretty much down by the time I headed to the pool area. But the music and fireworks made up for it thanks to another event going on! Dinner was at Spiral, quoted as the “Best Buffet in Manila”! All I can say is that I was very overwhelmed with Spiral’s range of cuisines – from Japanese to Italian to Filipino, I didn’t know what to eat! It was a lovely buffet with the bride, groom and their adorable daughter. Also appreciated Spiral’s surrounding decors. Overall, their buffet is perfect for family gatherings or date nights with your special someone.

image

 

It was rise and shine at around eight in the morning the following day as we were to get started with hair and make up by nine. Thanks so much to my wonderful make-up artist, Elly and hair stylist, Page, for making me look and feel so beautiful!

image

image

 

The wedding was held at The Blue Leaf Filipinas which was a generally convenient location with a lovely exterior – and interior thanks to their event decorator! Some celebrity sightings were most of the Two Wives cast, Jodi Sta. Maria, Zanjoe Marudo, Bernard and Mico Palanca, Doug and Cheska Kramer, Antoinette and Tom Taus and Gretchen Fullido. And the guest performer, Charice! I knew quite a bit of the wedding details prior to the event but I had no idea about Charice! All I can say is that you might think she sounds great in recordings but she sounds even better live! Her voice is just so clean – she has been blessed with such a beautiful voice! It was a lovely wedding – I’d say pretty simple for a celebrity wedding but still so perfect.

image

image

image

 

The following day, we headed to the seaside Dampa located along Diosdado Macapagal Boulevard which was also conveniently located by Sofitel. I’m no fan of seafood but I enjoyed the lovely food and having a meal with family friends I rarely ever see. By this point, I think my body was ready to give up because I wasn’t feeling so great but it was a nice end to my trip!

Overall, I genuinely enjoyed the weekend. Who knew hanging out with my mom’s best friends could be just as fun as being around your own friends!? Definitely a weekend worth remembering. And best of all, here’s wishing to the lovely couple that your love will stay true forever and that through each day, you bring each other and Chelsea (and future babies!) happiness and love.

Fely J’s Kitchen: 2/F, Greenbelt 5, Greenbelt Dr, Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila: CCP Complex Roxas Boulevard, Pasay City, Manila, 1300, Philippines

Spiral: Pasay Plaza Level, Sofitel Philippine Plaza, Roxas Boulevard, CCP Complex, Pasay City, Philippines

The Blue Leaf Filipinas: Belle Avenue, Aseana, Paranaque City, Pasay City, Philippines

Leave a Reply

