Food Diary: Labour Day Weekend

image

Because I’m already on summer, the Labour Day weekend didn’t really make much of a difference to my week but it was very refreshing having Tita Issa in town. She arrived Thursday evening late past midnight (note: goodluck getting home on a blue taxi past midnight from the HKIA!). The following day we had lunch as per her request at Handi Indian Restaurant.

image

 

I first learned about Handi when I was still in high school. They’d deliver to school and on top of that, it’s five minutes away from home so we’d get takeout there every so often. There’s quite a number of Indian restaurants in our neighbourhood but Handi is by far, my favourite. We started off with their Samosa’s which came along with three sauces: chutney, yogurt and mint. Then ordered Tandoori Chicken, Chicken Biryani and my personal favourite: Butter Chicken with Garlic Naan. The naan went along so well with the sauce! Really love the food at Handi and would definitely recommend it if you’re in the Tung Chung area. They offer a free car service from the Tung Chung MTR station to their restaurant.

The following day I had to drag myself to work but afterwards we headed to Mong Kok to do some shoe and food shopping. Mong Kok on a Saturday is not the best idea but that’s Hong Kong. We had initially wanted to eat at Eat Together, a local restaurant that we’d tried last month which turned out to be surprisingly good! But we ended up eating at Ippudo (my favourite ramen place!) as she hadn’t tried it yet and there’s still very long lines for it in Manila.

image

 

I ordered my usual: the Shiromaru Motoaji, which has such a nice soup base – some might find it salty but it’s perfect for me. It comes with lean slices of pork with thin noodles to your liking (soft, medium, hard). We also ordered the Special Shiromaru Motaji which is the exact same as what I had ordered except with more toppings: seaweed, soft boiled egg, pork and wonton. I’d say this is a good alternative if you like the extra toppings on your ramen.

So to some it up it was a very foodie weekend which I am not complaining about. Who doesn’t love a good food weekend! Hopefully on her next trip, we’ll be checking out coffee shops in Hong Kong.

Handi Indian Restaurant: G/F, No.8, Ha Ling Pei Tsuen, Tung Chung Road Tung Chung, Lantau Island. N.T

Eat Together: No.5, G/F, Fa Yuen Street, Mong Kok

Ippudo Hong Kong: Shop 5, Level 4A, Langham Place, 8 Argyle Street, Mong kok

Leave a Reply

