Foodie Sunday in Brisbane: Day 2 [June 21]

I’ll admit it. I’m a foodie. My typical day out with friends? Eating. I wouldn’t say that I actually have a favourite food or a favourite restaurant, I just love to eat. So how crazy is it to think back that I was all the way in Brisbane…just to eat for an entire day?!

 

 

Eat Street Markets is definitely one of my Brisbane highlights. It’s a little further away from Brisbane CBD but the commute wasn’t too long or inconvenient. The street food market is at Hamilton Wharf every Friday and Saturday from 4pm-10pm and Sunday from 10am-3pm. From Malaysian curry, German sausages, Chinese noodles, Peruvian cuisine, French crepes, ‘World Famous’ Funnel cake – you can find just about anything to satisfy your taste buds. Featuring live music, generous seating areas and green grass by the Brisbane River, the vibe of Eat Street Markets was the perfect Sunday for me.

 

First up on the “things I ate on my Foodie Sunday in Brisbane” was from Potato Slinkys. Something I’ve seen before in Seoul but it was my first time to try this oily, potato goodness.

 

Next up was a Strawberry Daiquiri from The Tutti Frutti Van in their bring-it-home mason jars which were BPA free. Perfect to reuse and refill at home but because of its bulkiness, I didn’t manage to bring it all the way home to HK. Excellent drink!

 

We did order something as our ‘main’ which for the life of me I cannot remember but just know that it was of South American cuisine. Nothing too great. So skip over to dessert, I was indecisive between getting a funnel cake or a ‘cruffin’ – apparently a croissant mixed muffin. Ended up with the Marshmallow Masquerade funnel cake from World Famous Funnel Cakes. Original name, I know. But I really enjoyed it! Lovely texture and topped off with two scoops of vanilla ice cream and toasted marshmallows. Yup, I could definitely feel the weight adding on by now.

 

And to end our day at Eat Street Markets, calamari from Gourmet Calamari. Personally didn’t like it too much because it was quite soft in texture. But I’ve been told that that’s what authentic calamari tastes like?!

Okay fine, I lied. We got something from The Doughnut Bar to top the day off. Prior to my trip I had heard things about this place and was dying to try it out. Decided on the ‘cookie monster’, a soft doughnut, coated in white chocolate with chocolate chip cookie crumbs drizzled with blue chocolate. After eating all that food in the day, I was so stuffed so I ended up just taking the doughnut home to eat for dessert that evening. Unfortunately it didn’t taste amazing by that evening but I’d assume it’d be good, fresh.

 

 

Overall, I really enjoyed the Eat Street Markets. Excellent concept, great vibe, perfect location and definitely my type for a day well spent! Was so stuffed by the time we headed back to our hotel! The only negative I’d say about it would be how overpriced the food was for its portions. But taking into consideration its location by the Brisbane River and its variety of food, I’d still visit and have a great time.

Definitely a must-do in Brisbane if you’re a foodie like me!

Eat Street Markets (AUD$2 entry): Macarthur Avenue, Brisbane QLD 4007, Australia

One thought on “Foodie Sunday in Brisbane: Day 2 [June 21]

  1. Pingback: Queen Victoria Summer Night Market | it's tricia

Leave a Reply

