The City of Gentle People | Dumaguete 2015

tumblr_inline_ntkn0wPr441ss2yvs_540

Known as “The City of Gentle People”, I’m so proud to call Dumaguete, my hometown. I can’t say that I’ve spent a lot of time here growing up, but in the last couple of years, I’ve really learned to embrace the place as my second home. Aside from visiting family, I just love Dumaguete for being such a great place for sun, sand and blue skies. With an abundance of beach resorts, I never fail to make it a point to spend time under the sun each trip.

image
 
image
 
image

 

I visited Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort in Dauin. It’s around a 40 minute drive from Dumaguete’s city center. The resort is very well-maintained, and complete with rest huts, a spa, pool and beach.

The good thing about these beach resorts in Dumaguete are that most accept walk-in customers for the day. They charge an entrance fee that’s usually at PHP200+ and these are usually consumable at the resort for food and/or drinks.

It was nice enjoying time under the sun and to finally get the long overdue tan that I need. August is actually known as the Philippines’ rainy season so lucky for me, the sun came out. But I guess the sun couldn’t take it as after about three hours into our time at Pura Vida, the sun felt it was time to hide beneath the clouds again so we decided to call it a day.

image

 

Next up was Tejero Highland Resort and Adventure Park located in Valencia. With an abundance of spacious pools, a zipline and ATV’s, this resort was definitely worth it for its PHP60 entrance fee which included making use of their swimming pools! Definitely a lot cheaper compared to Pura Vida but quick note, it was not consumable. Which to be honest, I don’t even mind! I heard you could even do your own grilling and bring in your own food. It was about PHP200 to rent a cottage which included a sitting area and table. Overall, Tejero’s was very much worth it! Would definitely come here again over Pura Vida if you ask me.

image

 

Another adventure I went on during my stay in Dumaguete was a trip to Pulangbato Falls, also located in Valencia. It’s about a 40 minute drive from the city. Now your drive to the falls will be an adventure in itself with uncemented roads but as you near the falls, you start seeing clouds of white steam rising from the rocks which turned out to be from sulfur fumes. This then causes the stones around Pulangbato to redden. Hence, Pulangbato Falls – or translated as “Red Stone Falls”.

Getting down to the actual falls is no easy task. There are stairs that lead you down but you’re on your own conquering the flowing water and uneven rocks. Now we couldn’t have gone all this way without taking a dip. Unfortunately, for us, it just so happened that rain was headed our way so the falls were very, very forceful. I repeat, very. I felt like I was going to end up down the stream because of how strong the water flow was! It was also very, very cold so we didn’t even manage to check out the neighbouring falls which flowed in fresh water or the concrete natural pool of the area. Still a unique experience for me because it was actually my first time at a waterfall.

image

 

On one of our more lazy days when we ran out of things to do, we went for an impulsive drive to Agan-an Sibulan Beach. Now it can’t compare to the beaches of Mactan, Cebu but it was a nice place within the city to just getaway for an afternoon. I’d imagine it being even more perfect with a book at hand!

Moments like this really allow me to embrace life. I’d say especially for someone like me who’s so used to the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. It’s nice to just stop and appreciate life for all it is and appreciate the natural beauty.

Dumaguete is one of my favourite places to be and I definitely can’t wait for the next time I’ll be back.

2 thoughts on “The City of Gentle People | Dumaguete 2015

  1. I simply couldn’t go away your website before suggesting
    that I really enjoyed the standard information an individual
    supply for your visitors? Is gonna be again frequently to check up
    on new posts

    Like

Leave a Reply

