Thought Series: The Book of Questions

I love doing these. Maybe this might be a regular thing on it’s tricia! This set of questions comes from Shayne Blogs‘ blog series on The Book of Questions by Gregory Stock. 

Would you rather be extremely successful professionally and have a tolerable yet unexciting private life, or have an extremely happy private life and only a tolerable and uninspiring professional life?

I’d rather have an extremely happy private life. Although there’s that whole notion that you shouldn’t be working at some mundane job if it’s not what makes you happy.. At the end of the day, it’s your private life that you go home to. I’d hope that be a husband and kids in the future, and I believe having an extremely happy private life would give me the strength to wake up the next day, regardless of what job I’m at.

Do you feel you have enough time? If not, what would give you that feeling? How much has your attitude about time changed as you’ve aged?

That’s the funny thing about time. When I was younger, I didn’t have a care in the world about time. Now that I’m older and facing this particular stage in life where I’m finishing college soon, there’s this pressure to have it all figured out. People ask me, so what are you going to do after graduation? Yes, I might’ve spent over three years on a college degree but it doesn’t mean I know what I want to do for the next forty years of my life.

We make it seem like our time is limited and sometimes we get so caught up in it that it often causes us to rush things. It’s really the pressure from others that gives this feeling of limited time. Although I don’t feel like I have enough time, I think it’s a constant battle to remember that I do in fact, have enough time.

Would you accept twenty years of extraordinary happiness and fulfillment if it meant you would die at the end of the period?

I was recently inspired by Courageous Caitie. Her mom shares how despite having only lived three years, it was a life full lived because of the amount of lives she was able to touch. Caitie lived three years of extraordinary happiness and it was enough.

But at the same time, I struggle to answer this question because I do see the importance in both the ups and downs in life. My greatest downs have shaped me into the person I am today. So I guess it isn’t so much about the amount of time you have, but I’d choose not to accept the twenty years because no matter what, I still find value in the downs.

Do you feel you have much impact on the lives of people you come in contact with? Can you think of someone who, over a short period of time, significantly influenced your life?

Hmm as much as I’d like to say yes, and hope that at the end of this life, I’d be able to be of impact to someone… At this point, I’d say no, not really.

I can think of a bunch of people that’s significantly influenced my life. I can think of someone that constantly challenges me to learn how to accept everything that’s thrown at me in life. I can think of someone that’s changed my perspective and taught me to realize what the most important things are in life. I can think of someone that’s taught me how to value myself more as an individual. The funny thing is, I’m almost 100% positive they have no idea.

10 thoughts on “Thought Series: The Book of Questions

    • Aw sometimes I feel the same way! I find myself enjoying lots of nights in without anything exciting going on. But I guess that’s one way to define happiness though hehehe. Thanks! x

      Like

    • Yes definitely try it out! They’re questions that are great for reflection. Try and find The Book of Questions online or search for thought provoking questions :) Would love to read your responses!

      Like

    • Thanks so much! I’d love to. I managed to find a PDF version of The Book of Questions online actually! So hopefully, I’ll be able to. And you definitely should too! Always nice to see how other people think about things in life too :)

      Like

  1. Loved your answers to these questions! This paragraph totally summed up exactly how I feel about time, too:

    We make it seem like our time is limited and sometimes we get so caught up in it that it often causes us to rush things. It’s really the pressure from others that gives this feeling of limited time. Although I don’t feel like I have enough time, I think it’s a constant battle to remember that I do in fact, have enough time.

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Like

    • Aw I’m so glad you were able to check this out! I love your blog series on this! Really thought-provoking questions. Yes! Especially for us millennials, there’s just so much pressure all the time. Glad to hear I’m not the only one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

