Summer Days and Colourful Beach Huts

Brighton-Beach

Some of Australia’s most major cities just so happen to be coastal cities. Lucky for me, Melbourne is one of them. Brighton Beach is about a 30 minute train ride from the CBD, the perfect little getaway on a sunny day in Melbourne.

IMG_4484

IMG_4481

oh beautiful blue skies of Australia, i love you the most

We got on a train at Flinders Street Station and took the Sandringham line heading to Sandringham. There’s about 11 stops till the Brighton Beach station. From there, it’s quite a bit of a walk to the main beach, but you definitely won’t miss the colourful beach huts – or bathing boxes as the Melburnians call it, once you see them.

I wondered what people would possibly need these boxes for. I mean, I guess if you’re a regular at the beach, it’d be a convenient place to store any stuff you might need. After a bit of research, I found out that these boxes were actually used as changing sheds for women back in the 1800s. I read this article from The Herald Sun that gives a glimpse into the inside of your typical bathing box at Brighton Beach today.

IMG_4517

These wooden structures are lined across Brighton Beach and are known for creating a distinctive beachscape. Each box with its own theme, colour and design, its what attracts so many tourists and local Melburnians for an afternoon out in Brighton.

IMG_4451

However, because it’s emerged as a tourist icon in Melbourne, the beach does get overcrowded. So if you’re one who’d prefer a relaxing day at the beach, Brighton Beach might not be your best option.

IMG_4453

I for one however, enjoyed my afternoon at Brighton beach. It wasn’t so much of a day to lay in the sun and get my tan on, but I take it more of a “visit” to a beach. It was the perfect spot to take photos and spend time under the Australian sun despite being…well, fully clothed. I’d definitely recommend a day out at Brighton if you’re in Melbourne. I’ve also heard that St. Kilda and 12 Apostles are also must-sees in the Victoria area.

I thoroughly admire Australia for its beaches. I’ve realized this ever since my trip to Surfers Paradise and Broken Head prior to this trip. It’s not necessarily so much the beauty of these beaches – although, Australia is home to some of the world’s best beaches (but nothing beats the beaches back home in the Philippines)! Instead, it’s more of the accessibility of beaches. And much of this has to do with the fact that Australia’s in the top ten countries with the longest coastlines! I’d love to live here someday and go on weekend beach trips.

This brings me to the end of my Melbourne series. My trip to Melbourne was lots of fun – I got to spend quality time with my best friend and see a new city at the same time. Watch my trip to Melbourne here! I’d wish I was able to visit Sydney before my Australian visa had expired. Unfortunately, I just didn’t have the time, so hopefully I’ll be able to get my new passport soon which’ll hopefully entitle me to more visa-free countries! *crosses fingers*

Australia will always hold a special place in my heart, so Australia, that’s definitely not the last you’ll see of me.

 

8 thoughts on “Summer Days and Colourful Beach Huts

Leave a Reply

